Ideas on multi-tenant Rocket Chat support

Hey guys,

Really love the work you’re doing. We’re working on multi-tenant support for our application (org1.domain.com, org2, org3 etc) and I have a few ideas I’d be keen to run past everyone before we investment development dollars.

I am very new to this to please point out any mistakes I make!

1. Dynamically connecting to different org’s mongo db by parsing subdomain

Something like: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/22588253/dynamic-database-connection-to-mongodb-or-mongoose-from-nodejs

1. Use mizzao/partitioner to separate database for different organisations

What is the best way to approach this problem?

Okay guys!

I’ve decided to go with #1 given I don’t want to mess around with #2 for now.

I understand the #1 isn’t 100% fully scalable to 1,000’s of communities. I’ll post any solutions I come up with!

Steve

Hi @steve

Thank you for posting the topic here for further discussion!

As you’re aware, this has been an in-demand, yet thorny and difficult engineering undertaking since the beginning of our project. History of which is more or less documented on this long running issue:

Behind the scene, we have seen no less than 3+ attempts (some heavily funded) using the documented approaches that had resulted in either:

1. abandonment
  2. perhaps a code fork (public/private) that satisfied the participant’s particular requirements, but not “good enough” for upstream merge because it did not solve the general problem

Our learning during these 3+ years of community attempts and feedback has been:

a) the mizzao partitioner approach is likely not the solution as devoted groups have attempted and abandoned; this is especially relevant as we continue to remove the dependency of our code on the Meteor framework moving forward