SSH Syn requests

I’m a network admin that has noticed that all my rocket chat clients are sending SYN requests to the rocket chat server on port 22. We have the port closed on the rocket chat server we host in AWS, but that doesn’t stop the constant attempts. Anyone else notice this? And were you successful in getting the clients to stop?

It’s sending requests so often that they amount to 5 or 6 GB per client per day. It’s getting to be a bit much and I would like to cut out the unnecessary traffic.

Are you sure these are requests from RC clients and not the general noise on port 22?

Yes, the requests are direct to the rocketchat server and there is no other SSH traffic. If you exit rocketchat, the SYN requests stop.

Just checked that on my test server, on which ufw with high logging is running. I don’t see requests on port 22, when connecting with desktop client nor with browser.

Hmm. It’s weird though. The only thing being sent is SYN requests. The netstat -a -b shows the port designated to the rocket chat client/server connection, and it’s a dynamic port internally to port 22.

I disabled the ufw firewall and even a tcpdump -i eth0 port 22 does not show any connects on port 22, using the desktop client.

It’s just spamming SYN packets to the SSH port on the server. It changes the dynamic port, but there is never a response and the server is not responding. I’m using wireshark to help isolate any other associated traffic. Any insight would be appreciated.

Rocket.Chat its self doesn’t do anything out of the box with port 22. Definitely nothing speaking ssh either.

My thought would be maybe someone sent a link like: yourserver:22 and the client is attempting to resolve? Or you have some custom javascript running that has each client trying to login. Could be a number of things but for sure not out of the box.